Also known as Linlithgow, this lost Lowlands distillery was built in the mid-18th century by Sebastian Henderson and operated for well over 200 years before being closed in the great cull of 1983. It had passed to A & J Dawson in 1798 before being acquired by DCL in 1912. The distillery was re-equipped in 1927 and had its own floor maltings until 1968, after which it bought in malt from Glenesk. Despite a capacity of around 200,000 gallons a year of production, there were no official bottlings during its lifetime, and most malt fans had barely heard of it until a series of stunning Rare Malt bottlings (as St. Magdalene) in the mid-to-late 1990s. It is now one of the most lamented lost distilleries (the buildings have been converted to private housing), and Rare Malt bottlings are hungrily seized upon by aficionados and collectors alike.